My SlutWalk: Kayla

SlutWalk is a radical movement for a less than radical idea. What is SlutWalk to me? I have nothing to get off my chest. I am not looking for my voice. I have found my voice. I am fighting to give justice to past victims with hope that we won’t have to fight for future victims.
I have not been raped. I have been harassed, assaulted, groped and made to feel used. I have been made to feel worthless, and dirty. I have been made to feel like a sexual object, but most importantly, I have been made to feel like a woman. For me, there was harassment before I could even understand it. I didn’t have the knowledge or experiences I have now. I knew that it made me uncomfortable and angry. The seeds of feminism were planted. I did not look at myself sexually and I still like to think that I am more than a walking piece of meat. I have my voice now. People new to me and my concepts of feminism and me a question and I have to ramble a tad. Those who know me see it coming when people ask, “What is SlutWalk?” SlutWalk and Feminism are straight forward. My journey with SlutWalk has been a learning curve and an amazing opportunity to meet new people. It’s easy to overload peoples mind’s because so much of what I have learnt seems straightforward now. I love the opportunity to share my knowledge and experience with those around me.
Off the top of my head, I can think of seven close friends who’ve told me that they have been sexually assaulted. None of them ‘deserved it’. ¼ women are sexually assaulted. Nearly all women will get harassed; be it at work or in the street. The numbers are sickening and unnecessary. I worry about teammates, friends, family, and co-workers. I would like to imagine a justice system that acknowledges its people and provides sufficient protection. I hope that as a society we can continue to grow and move forward. I am involved in SlutWalk to try and help change things.
I do not consider myself a radical freedom fighter; but I try to be decent person. As a decent person, I think we need to take a step back. I think that we need to go back to basics without any bias. We need to take care of each other. People are people. Assault is assault. Victims are victims.

Kayla Mcmillan

Leave a Reply

