My SlutWalk: Kassiy

This is my SlutWalk
I tend to think of myself as a rather logical person, but something I’ve never quite understood has been stereotypes. All they do is hurt people; in particular, the world ‘slut’. I personally have never been called a ‘slut’, but I know many people who have been hurt by the word. I also know quite a few people who have been sexually assaulted and raped. Including myself, but I’d rather not talk about that. I’d rather talk about how society has put the blame on us for rape.

When someone is raped it becomes their own fault, because they are ‘sluts’, because they are ‘asking for it’. What is a ‘slut’? Is it someone who wears revealing clothing? Someone who enjoys sex? I don’t see anything wrong with either of these things. How can you be ‘asking for it’ without saying ‘yes’? Does being naked in your bed mean ‘yes’? Does drinking too much and flirting a lot mean ‘yes’? NO, it does not. The thought that it does needs to change. The only word that means ‘yes’ is YES.

It’s my body; I should be able to do whatever I want with it, without being judged by others around me. That is why when I discovered a little event happening called SlutWalk, and I found out it was coming to Winnipeg, I decided to do whatever I could to help. I’m just that type of person who wants to rid the world of evil; in whatever small way that I can. The problem is that my social anxiety disorder sometimes gets in the way of my ability to help. But I know that there is strength in numbers, and that my just being there is helpful.
To me, SlutWalk is just one step on the way to ending bullying and harassment. I was bullied a lot as a child, and I never want anyone else to go through the mental pain that I did. I believe that calling people names is wrong. You never know what they’ve been through until you’ve lived their lives. If you’re called something enough, you’ll start to believe it. You’ll give into the pressure of society. Start to believe that yes, your rape was your own fault. SlutWalk is a way to rebel that pressure. It brings light to the darkened tunnel that became your life. Rape is NEVER the fault of the victim. Not society, not pop culture, not anyone, should ever claim that it is. Don’t ever let words hurt you. You have one life, one body, and one mind, and should be able to do as you please with them. This is MY SlutWalk, and I won’t let anyone take that away from me.

-Kassandra Swan

Leave a Reply

